Vos (Valley of the Sun Writers) Meeting

My writer’s meeting last night was fun and informative. Our guest speaker, Kris Tualla, was fantastic. She talked on Branding, the visual and verbal attribute that makes people connect you with your work. For example, one of our members writes about winged vampires. So a good brand for her would be something like: Winged men who bite. I haven’t thought of a good brand for myself yet. Not that I’ve had much time to just sit and think. I get up at 4:30 A.M. and go for a long run along the canal and when I get home I write for six or seven hours. After that I go for my evening run. I turned sixty-two last month and one of my dreams has always been to run a marathon. I am now training for the P.F. Chang’s Rock and Roll Marathon being held in January of 2012 between downtown Phoenix and Tempe. I want to do it before I turn another year older. I’m not going for speed, I just want to finish in the time alloted. I’m extremely excited about it.

I also want to get my second book: Parasite: The Recovery, completed and published before that time so ‘busy’ is the only thing I know these days. I couldn’t accomplish all that I do if it weren’t for my wonderful husband, Danne. He helps with the house, meals, and grandchildren. It is amazing how far he’s come since he broke both his feet about six months ago. He always tells me I’m an angel, but I’m not; he is the angel. I like to say that he walked on water next to our Lord. But in reply he says, “I was standing on your shoulders.” All I know is that our marriage of almost thirty-three years has to be heaven. We have a bond that will last until we are both in heaven holding hands. I wish everyone could find a man like my husband. But enough about that.

Back to the meeting last night. If anyone is interested in writing or is already writing and doesn’t know where to go from there, think about joining our group. We meet once per month on the second Tuesday of the month at Iron Works Restaurant. For more information contact Donna Warner, our membership director at jpwldnw@aol.com. You can come to a meeting twice without joining if you just want to do a test drive and see what we’re all about. We would love to have you visit us.

Well, time is running so I need to get back to my writing. Hope you will decide to leave a blog on my site. I promise to write back.

2 thoughts on “Vos (Valley of the Sun Writers) Meeting

    • Danne:
      Me too. I bought her book titled Authorpreneur and it helped me a lot when I started working with Create Space. Kris is a great speaker and very knowledgeable. I wish they would have her speak at every meeting. She appeals to the writer who has already published twenty books and the newby writers. I’m really proud of how you have been getting into your writing. You go girl.

Leave a Reply

